Academic skills workshops

Study skills workshops, October 2019

This year, City’s Learning Enhancement and Development (LEaD) team are offering a wide-ranging series of lunchtime study skills workshops.

  • Most sessions are open to all City students, but some are School-specific, as indicated below
  • There’s no need to book; just come along to the sessions that best address your needs
  • All sessions are from 1pm to 1.50pm unless stated otherwise below*. Room numbers are shown.
  • If you miss any session, you will find the learning materials on the Learning Success Moodle.
  • If you have a question about any of the workshops, please phone 020 7040 0246 or email academiclearningsupport@city.ac.uk

Understanding your marking criteria and planning your essay

Monday 30th September

-Cass Students: room DLG08
- Health Students: room B103

Taking effective notes in lectures

Tuesday 1st October, Room C320

Academic reading skills – taking effective notes from texts

Wednesday 02nd October, Room C320

Critical Thinking

Wednesday 02nd October, Room B103

Learning to learn

Thursday 03rd October, Room B103

Digital literacy

Friday 04th October, Room ELG05

Time management & staying organised

Friday 04th October, Room B104

Essay writing

Tuesday 08th October

-Cass Students: room ELG04
- Health Students: room BLG07

Reflective writing

Wednesday 9th October, Room BLG07

Free Software for Assignment Writing & Revision*

Thursday 10th October, Room C301

13:00-14:00 - demonstration
14:00-15:00 Practice time

Referencing made easy

Monday 14th October, Room DLG08

Dissertation skills for SASS students

Tuesday 15th October, Room AG07b

Dissertation skills for Health students

Wednesday 16th October, Room B103

Presentation skills

Thursday 17th October, Room B103

Understanding and using feedback from your tutor

Tuesday 22nd October, Room B104

Checking your work: proofreading skills

Wednesday 23rd October, Room AG07b

Revision methods

Monday 28th October, Room B103

Writing a technical report in a STEM subject

Monday 28th October, Room C320

Exam techniques

Tuesday 29th October, Room B104

Referencing made easy

Wednesday 30th October, Room B103

Mind mapping software*

Thursday 31st October, Room AG24a

13:00-14:00 - demonstration
14:00-15:00 Practice time

If you have a question about any of the workshops, please call 020 7040 0246 or email Academic Learning Support