Sports awards

This year’s awards ceremony was held at The Montcalm Royal London House in Finsbury Square on May 5th.

The City, University of London sports awards evening is a prestigious event held annually to honour and recognise the outstanding sporting achievements of our student athletes and to celebrate another successful year in sport for the sports community.

This year’s awards ceremony was held at The Montcalm Royal London House in Finsbury Square May 5th .

We are please to announce the recipients of 2021-22 season awards were awarded to:

Service to Sport

George Jackson

Captain of the year

Carolyn Henesy & George Jackson

Most Improved club of the year

Men’s Football 1

Team of the year

Men’s Futsal

Club of the year


Club Colours

American Football: Farhan Pothiyil

Badminton Women's: Kyla Donnelly

Badminton Women’s: Swarna Gunesie

Basketball Men's: Nicolas Paolini

Basketball Men's: Alejandro Bondjale-Hinestrosa

Basketball Women's: Zana Abdul-Hannan

Cheerleading: Carolyn Hennesy

Cheerleading: Anais Novasque

Equestrian: Laura Bramall

Equestrian: Annie Higgo

Equestrian: Andrew Counihan

Football Men's 1: Jose Sanz-Macareno

Football Men's 2: Victor Monnier

Futsal Men's: Eshan Wickramarchchi

Futsal Men's: Lucas Theodose

Futsal Women's: Malin Bergquist

Hockey Men's: George Jackson

Hockey Men's: Yahya Din

Hockey Women's: Niamh King

Hockey Women's: Georgia Gray

Netball 1: Anna Fox

Netball 1: Elle McHale

Netball 2: Ana Sagalotto

Netball 2: Becky Moon

Rugby Union Men's: Adam Bell

Rugby Union Men's: Brandon Rai

Table Tennis Men's: Anthony Pereira

Table Tennis Women's: Leena Aldukali

Tennis Men's: Sebastian Eklund

Tennis Women's: Carolina Bellato

Volleyball Men's: Joshua Boddy

Volleyball Men's: Ethan Chan

Volleyball Women's: Beatriz Carvalho

Volleyball Women's: Beatrice Barizza

Full Colours

Hetvi Haria

Team player of the year

Basketball Men’s: Alejandro Bondjale

Basketball Women’s: Zana Abdul-Hannan

Badminton Women’s: Fern Paniti Aupatcha

Cheerleading: Sade Walters

Equestrian team: Annie Higgo & Laura Bramall

Football Men’s 1st: Patricio Hemplemann

Futsal Men’s: Lucas Theodose

Hockey Men’s: Devesh Kerai

Hockey Women’s: Niamh king

Netball 1st: Anna Warburton

Netball 2nd: Becky Moon

Rugby Men’s: Joshua Clayfield